schnurschuhe, low boots

Moderator: Feldjager

woestijnvoske

schnurschuhe, low boots

Post by woestijnvoske »

Hi everbody,

I have been looking for decent schnurschuhe/low boots for a long time. Enough people who make them, but wich ones are the best? I do have to say that I am a student, and dont have a lot of money, but I really need decent schnurschuhe now.
My last pair was from SOF, and see the pics of the results after one weekend. They were greased in and all...
Halle

Re: schnurschuhe, low boots

Post by Halle »

Hi Wostijnvoske ,
There's been a discussion about this recently , and probably since the forum began - it's all about how much you want to spend - Joky , €230 , superb , last you a life time - SOF - £60 ? One event ( I'd expect more than one event for £60 mind ) . You're a student , so you're poor , have a look on the forum for some ideas , but at the end of the day , you get what you pay for ,

Good luck , let us know how you get on :D
Jäger Stefan Halle 3./I./Geb.Jag.Reg.100
Pug42

Post by Pug42 »

Jeez! How far did you march in your single weekend!? :o As the previous poster says, £60/70 is at the cheap end of the price range for boots but I would still expect them to hold up better than that - they look like they have been worn for weeks!

I've only ever had two pairs since I've been reenacting, first pair was £120 and second pair was £170, and with regular oiling/dubbin they have lasted me 9 years now! (I keep the first pair as a spare now after one of the Dutch lads re-soled and nailed them in the fashion of a field repair...

First pair were Polish and second pair Czech, both via Richard Underwood. Boots are the one thing I wouldn't "economise" on as they are vital.
David

Stimme aus dem sumpf...

STURMPANZER ABTEILUNG
woestijnvoske

Post by woestijnvoske »